Family within a Culture

You can strain your brain trying to think of an instance where a family exists outside of a culture. What am I saying when I talk about culture?  In anthropology, it is “the sum total of ways of living built up by a group of human beings and transmitted from one generation to the next.” 

“Ways of living” … I like that. So, I guess, my premise is correct, because a family by its very nature has its own culture … so does a neighborhood, so does a school, so does a workplace, so does a church, so does a gang, so does …  Throughout the day we step from one culture into another, and we human beings, by our nature, drag a bit of each culture into the next one because our cultures are part of us.

I bring this up because I caught a bit of Windy City Live, a daytime tv talk show and they were discussing the violence that is a part of the culture on Chicago’s south side. Garrard McClendon (@garrardmc) was on and I follow Garrard because I think he is one of those “voices in the wilderness” that truly has the ability to make a difference in the world.  In not so many words, Garrard said that the violence will not subside until the influences in the cultures that support it change. It’s hard to tell your kid to not be in a gang, when he is contributing to the household income.

Leave a Reply

