Stop it. It’s not funny …

The mind is an amazing thing the way it can move from one thing to the next, to the next, and the next. I often will speak from my stream of consciousness and my family will give me a blank stare and ask, “Where did that come from?”  I’ll have to stop and give them a peak at the thread that got me there, that is if I don’t get distrac … oh, look,a shiny thing.

So I was thinking about “doing it gangnam style”, and I pulled up the you tube video, and as I watched it, I thought, “What a satire of club dance that is.”  Satire made me think of Erma Bombeck, whose newspaper column I would read all the time, and I thought, “One of these days I really need to write a funny post, so I’ll have to do it Bombeck style.” 

My favorite entertainers were always the comedians, and Erma wrote some is the funniest stuff I ever read. I read two of her books, The Grass Is Always Greener Over The Septic Tank, and If Life Is A Bowl Of Cherries, What Am I Doing In The Pits.  Maybe it wasn’t the usual fare for a young guy, but I enjoyed it anyway. The titles alone give you a pretty good indication of her humor.

Comedy is the hardest work a person can ever do.  If you don’t think so, just sit down and try to write a joke. I was asked to roast my sister-in-law at her fortieth birthday.  Man, I sweated that one for days.  I wasn’t sure I’d ever get that routine out of the oven.  See?  Not easy.

So here’s to Erma, and all the light and life she brought to us.  We lost her in 1996 to cancer, but she left behind a ton of smiles and laughs.  After all, she was the one who said, “If you can’t make it better, you can laugh at it.”

“When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I do not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me.'”   — Erma Bombeck

Leave a Reply

