Emotions raising to a fevered pitch.

You can almost feel the excitement in the air … or maybe it’s just in the media all around us. Emotions are running the gamete. I saw two cars collide in a parking lot (actually more of a bump than a collision) and the drivers gave each other a hug and went on their way. I saw another driver turn the wrong way up a parking aisle to beat out a car coming down the aisle looking for a spot. You can see the very best of behavior and the very worst.

The feeling on Twitter is one of missing the season. @Larryis2fab4u, “Christmas was more fun when I was younger.” One of my sons echoed that sentiment. @emilymosenson, “It doesn’t feel like Christmas time.” I’ve heard that one a lot this year. Maybe it has something to do with how quickly Christmas followed Thanksgiving. It can’t be the weather, because at least in middle America, we’ve had lots of cold and snow. Out east, not so much. @chanelthick, “2 days until Christmas and I’ve never felt less Christmassy in my life.” Still there’s hope. @imJCMarquez, “Finally felt the Christmas spirit today, almost Christmas everyone.”

It’s Christmas time. You are going to be around the people who know how to push your buttons, yank your chain, send your anger into orbit. The key. Keep it in check. You know they do it. You know how much you hate it. Challenge yourself. I can control it. I don’t have to let them control me.

Have a Merrier Christmas.

3 thoughts on “Emotions raising to a fevered pitch.

  1. It doesn’t feel very Christmassy at 65 degrees, with children who no longer make me a list, with shopping almost entirely on the internet, etc. There’s a weird feel this year, but I’ll be doing my best to make it merrier. Thanks for the good recommendations.

Leave a Reply

