Don’t Skip this One …

My original title for this was “My Summer Reading List”, but I’m pretty sure most of you would have skipped a reading like that.  Stay tuned,  I’ll make it worth your while.

Hopefully the lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer are here and we can find time to indulge in some great literature. I have to start off with Dave Ramsey.  I’m a particular fan of The Total Money Makeover and Entreleadership for business. If you prefer some audio, check out Entreleadership podcasts. It is the most subscribed business podcast on iTunes. The new book Ramsey did with daughter Rachel Cruze, Smart Money Smart Kids is an excellent read, well worth your time.

Along that same line, The Millionaire Next Door is a researched study of the people who have attained a real net worth.  While four out of five of us are “all hat and no cattle”, scattered in our presence are those who not only make their hard work pay off, but know how to retain it as well. If you want to learn their secrets, pick this one up.

Are you having trouble succeeding in life?   It may not be your I.Q. as much as it is your Emotional Intelligence as presented by Daniel Goleman in his book by that name.  My favorite preschool director focuses on bringing that to her school more than academics. And speaking of Focus, Goleman’s new book by that title is appropriately subtitled The Hidden Driver of Excellence. I have already added it to my list.  The upcoming millennial generation could take a lesson from Goleman’s Focus, as they try to multi-task their way through life.  To read more about this fascinating generation, grab David Burstein’s Fast Forward.

Also well worth including in your summer reading …
The Blessed Life by Robert Morris
Rhinoceros Success by Scott Alexander
Your Brain at Work by David Rock
Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us by Seth Godin (or really anything by Seth Godin)

It doesn’t all have to be such heavy reading. After all, some relaxation during the summer is good for the soul. Stephen King is such a great artist in prose, I look forward to his just released Mr. Mercedes. I may also visit John Steinbeck’s The Winter of our Discontent. It’s one I’ve wanted to read for a long time.

… and of course, continue reading the Family Dimension blog.  I am glad you are with me. Please comment below what you will be reading this summer.

“You will be the same person in five years as you are today, except for the people you meet and the books you read.”  — Charlie Jones

Leave a Reply

